Sandwichlady's Blog

ADD and the Elderly

Posted on: February 22, 2010

I tried to get through the mall today with Mom. She has a major case of ADD, but would never admit it. We can’t go three feet without her stopping to read a sign or get distracted by something “shiny”. I find myself walking in front of her and occasionally putting my hand back to show her in which direction she is supposed to be going. On the road she reads all of the signs we pass. (this reminds me of the movie Forget Paris with Debra Winger and Billy Crystal). I crack up EVERY time and she always asks me what’s so funny? Nothing sweetie, I say as I have the mantra “you asked for it, you got it, Toyota”, going through my head.
Today was a great day. Mom actually felt like shopping a little, my daughter is over a cold she’s had forever, the son is actually communicating in more than the usual grunt and the hubby is humming after work.

It feels good to be a sandwich on these days….  oh well, there’s always tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Some jelly on your PB sandwich?

I hope to encourage others while sharing my funny stories with the world. If you find lost teeth, dogs who track mud on the freshly mopped floor and teens who get into fender benders at 8:00 in the morning funny, this is the blog for you. A member of the sandwich generation using humor to stay sane!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

